Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Transitional: Nothing Real Nothing Absent (4.5/5)

Joshua's Top 10 Metal Albums of 2008
#5 out of 10

Year: 2008
Genre: Shoegaze Drone Sludge
Label: Conspiracy
TRT: 33:12

Comprised of Kevin Laska and Dave Cochrane, Transitional crafts dark and moody music. This release has a decidedly old-school Heart Ache sound to it, with a good dose of Sun Down/Sun Rise as well, which is not surprising since Cochrane collaborated with Justin Broadrick on that project in the past. Oscillating between heavy lows and atmospheric highs, Transitional has put together a very satisfying release, who’s largest fault lies in it’s frustratingly inadequate length.

01 Nowhere Shining
02 Fracture
03 This Paradise, Part I
04 This Paradise, Part II
05 Lustless
06 Abandonment

Search Amazon for Transitional


Faville said...

Clicking on this file gives us another copy of A Storm of Light. I'm definitely interested in the Transitional album.
Thanks for making these available, aside from VB and Mesh the other bands are totally new.

Praemorior said...

thanks for the heads up, fixed. happy downloading. :)