Saturday, January 7, 2012

Arms and Sleepers: The Organ Hearts (5/5)

Joshua's Top 10 Albums of 2011
#1 of 10 (Album of the Year)

Year: 2011
Genre: Ambient Electronic Soundscapes
Label: Expect Candy
TRT: 41:01

This duo from New England showed up on my radar sometime shortly after their second full length Matador was released in 2009. I liked it and checked out their first album, and liked it as well, but it wasn't until late in 2010 that I really started to get into their sound. That's what they do. They create lush and layed soundscapes that appear simple on the surface, but become more intricate as you start to pay attention to and pick up on the subleties. When I saw them in April of 2010, The Organ Hearts was slated for release about a month later. After they opened their set with the first three tracks from the new album, the anticipation became palpable, and I bought it the day it was released.

This is their best release to date. Everything I love about their previous releases is here, but magnified. At first blush this seems to be the most minimalistic and ambient material they've created, but as you become more familiar with the music, more and more things begin to pop out at you. Over time, listening to this album becomes like watching a time-lapse video of a mountain meadow as it transforms from winter to spring, and the flowers bloom from the frozen ground.

01 Kepesh
02 Tusk
03 I Sing the Body Electric
04 The Afternoon Child
05 A Smile in Sofia
06 Antwerp
07 Serie Noire
08 Reprise
09 Yesterday's Child
10 Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye
11 Atelier
12 Airport Blues

No comments: