Thursday, November 20, 2008

The Shortwave Set: Replica Sun Machine (4/5)

Jonathan's #18 out of 20 Album of 2008

Year: 2008
Label: Wall of Sound
Genre: Psychedelic Indie
TRT: 39:15

The Shortwave Set are a British psychedelic pop band who combine samples and songs to create a sound the group describe as “Victorian Funk”. After looking at the album cover and only listening to the first track "Harmonia", I knew this would be an amazing album. There are so many new melodies and vocal runs that really stand out to me as being a breath of fresh air. The band really utilizes the samples they add to their music as it layers the horizon of their solid song structures. Also, the band has a very unique and branding harmony that sticks throughout the album. There are so many great albums for 2008 that this has taken spot #18 on my list for this year, but last year this could have easily been in my top 5.

01 Harmonia
02 Glitches 'n' Bugs
03 Replica
04 House of Lies
05 Now Til '69
06 Distant Daze
07 No Social
08 Yesterdays to Come
09 I Know
10 Sun Machine
11 The Downer Song

Search Amazon for The Shortwave Set

No comments: